The current members of the Madrid Union have functions both as the office of origin and the office of a designated party. Learn more about members` obligations as well as useful tools such as Madrid system statistics, model forms and provisions. The Madrid Union currently has 107 members, with 123 countries. These members account for more than 80% of world trade, with the potential for enlargement if membership increases. 1) Official name: African Intellectual Property Organization. Its members are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, the Republic of Congo, Côte d`Ivoire, GabonGuine, Equatorial Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Guinea Biaasu, Senegal and Togo. Compliance with the convention or protocol includes membership of the Madrid Union. As of June 2019,[update] there are 104 members from 120 countries. The original treaty has 55 members, all of which are equally parties to the protocol (when Algeria acceded to the Madrid Protocol on 31 October 2015, all members of the Madrid agreement were also members of the Madrid Protocol and many aspects of the Madrid agreement no longer have practical effect). The term “Union de Madrid” can be used to describe the legal systems that are parties to the agreement or protocol (or both).

[4] The protocol has been in force since 1996 and has 100 members,[5] making it more popular than the agreement, which has been in force for more than 110 years and has 55 members. [4] The main reason why the protocol is more popular than the agreement is that the protocol has introduced a number of changes to the Madrid system that have greatly improved its usefulness for trademark holders. Japan has revised its trademark legislation by formally adopting the Nice classification (an international trademark classification system for products and services) as well as service applications for service brands. The members of the European Community have amended their legislation to comply with the European Community`s harmonisation directive. In recent years, trademark laws have also been amended in several other countries, such as Malaysia, New Zealand and South Africa, to reflect these changes. [Citation required] The designation of the European Union (code em) includes all countries that are members of the European Union. The following countries are members of the European Union: On 15 November 2019, the Madrid Protocol has 106 members covering 122 countries representing more than 80% of world trade. Among the members are three regions comprising several countries, as shown below: in the run-up to the introduction of a multi-judicial (or at least pan-European) Community brand, the relevance of the Madrid system has been tested. Pressure on WIPO to maintain its relevance and strengthens the agreement by increasing the number of members, possibly through amendments.